Home / Make-Up / Reviews

The Best Mascaras You’ve Never Heard Of!

I still remember as if it was yesterday, how on this dreary autumn day five years ago, I bought a face wash at an Yves Rocher Paris train station and was offered a free mascara. I soon forgot about the face wash, but the mascara has accompanied me ever since! Which is to say that this is probably the best mascara you’ve never heard of!

Yves Rocher 1When you think of mascara, it’s probably names like Maybelline’s The Rocket (9,99 €), Tart’s Lights, Camera, Flashes (over 20 €) or Benefit’s They’re Real (over 26,99 €) that come to our head. Yves Rocher however might be known for their shower gels, but definitely not for their mascaras. I think it’s time to break the silence and to say it out loud: In my humble opinion, they do the best mascaras!

As I’ve said, I discovered their Lash Plumping Mascara (9,99 €) ages ago and by total accident. I really rate it and will do a post on it as soon as I’ve got one open, but at the moment, I am using their Sexy Pulp Ultra Volume Mascara (19,90 €), which I like equally as much.Yves Rocher 2

Generally speaking and contrary to a lot of other brands, I find that Yves Rocher mascaras get better when they grow old: It takes a really long time for them to dry out to the point where you can’t use them anymore. Another bonus point are their brushes, which might be small and unremarkable as in the Lash Plumping one or big and curvy as in the Sexy Pulp one, but they always separate and curl your lashes really efficiently and durably. The effect you can see in the picture purely from comes the Sexy Plump mascara: I’ve neither curled my lashes nor used a spooley! (The one little dot you can see is not a lump of mascara, but a beauty mark I’ve got on my eyelid!)

Yves Rocher

As you can see in the picture, I’ve got a lot of long and straight lashes, but both mascaras effortlessly manage to curl them for an entire day. I am also really pleased to report that Yves Rocher mascaras don’t cause any trouble even when used over a prolonged period of time: On beauty blogs or channels, I often hear women complain that a mascara worked fine for a certain period of time, then made their lashes break or fall out or simply look weird. I’ve experienced none of the above over the course of the past five years. Quite the contrary, all I can see is dark, intense, perfectly separated, non-crumbly lashes that hold their curl all day long and that can even deal with a little rain. What more could you ask for? 🙂

Yves Rocher mascaras are on sale a lot of the time, so keep your eyes peeled and at least give one of them a chance: I am pretty positive that you’ll like them just as much as I do (especially for 5,99 €, which is the price of the Lash Plumping Mascara when it’s on sale).

Leave a comment