Home / Make-Up / Reviews

Your Skin But Better? Guerlain’s Joli Teint

Yet another case of “YouTube made me do it”! One glance at Ruth Crilly’s impressive before and after pictures, and I knew that one day, Guerlain’s Joli Teint and I would be a thing. Here’s my verdict …

I am naturally very fair-skinned and – as you will know if you are a regular on my blog – wear an SPF 50 every day, because I believe that protecting your sun from UV-A rays plays a major role in a successful anti-ageing-plan. On the downside however, my naturally pale skin stays pale all year round and seems to irritate people even more during the summer months, when they can compare their own tan to my … well: non-tan. It might have been due to comments along the lines of “Are you ill?” that I decided to at least try and liven up my complexion, but obviously without the exposure to sunrays or – even worse – sunbanks.
Scan 11

But let me tell you: There are easier things than to find a bronzing powder if you are as pale as I am. They are either to orange (70 % of them), too shimmery (Bahama mama), too crappily pigmented (NYX) or not available in Germany. Imagine my happiness when Guerlain brought out their matt Joli Teint compacts (39,95 €) in four different shades made to suit your skin and hair colour! Since Guerlain are known more than many other brands for their innovative powder face products (their Météorite Pearls for instance), I immediately trusted their concept of a true complexion-embellishing powder, especially since they already sell a regular bronzing powder. And I’ve not been let down: There’s a world of a difference between a regular bronzing powder and these subtle, dark beige shades that come very close to Chanel’s Les Beiges. Contrary to Les Beiges however, these compacts come with a second colour, varying from a pale rose to an apricot shade, to add a little extra flush and warmth to particular areas of your face.

The packaging seems to be of a rather high quality, but looks a bit outdated to me. The mirror in the lid comes in very handy, however; and so far, the powder has not shattered, which seems to suggest that the packaging is doing a good job. What I like most about this product however is the utterly delicious, high-end, elegant scent of fresia, orange and vanilla. Olfactorically speaking, I was not expecting anything from this compact, since I have gotten so used to my unscented Chrimaluxe mineral powders: But applying this product with a big fluffy brush has become one of my favourite and most relaxing parts of my whole make-up routine!

Despite all the good theory and concept behind this product, I am still on the fence about its visual results. On certain days, I look in the mirror in the middle of the day and find my complexion weirdly yellowish and blotchy; on other days, there seems to be no colour pay-off whatsoever. But either way, I actually have a really hard time applying the right amount of product, never quite achieving anything close to a result comparable to the one Ruth Crilly seemed to be able to achieve. Maybe I’ve just gone for the wrong shade (I am using 00 Clair), but I rather feel like it is an issue of pigmentation: If I try to swatch the product with my fingers, I see my theory confirmed.IMG_5604

So even though I really love the process of application more than any other step in my make-up routine, I will not repurchase this product. As an alternative, I can recommend The Body Shop’s Honey Bronze (16 €) in the lightest shade (which, on lighter skins, has to be applied very carefully, however), bespoke Chanel’s Les Beiges (49,99 €), or TooFaced’s Chocolate Bronzer, which is a real, dark bronzer however.

I’ll let you know whether I’ll eventually find the perfect touch of “health” for my face, and at what cost it comes. But I might just as well stick to my Spending Wisely-plan, (which seems more appealing to me at the moment), embrace my complexion and be a proud ghost (according to some) or geisha (according to – more charming – others) 🙂

Leave a Reply

