Hair Care / Home / Make-Up / Skin Care

Beauty Blogger Award

Unless my stats are deceiving me, this is the one-hundredth post on TheWherewithals. To mark the occasion, I’ve saved a special post for today that I feel very honoured about.

First, I’d like to thank the lovely Allie from moscato&mascara for nominating me for the Beauty Blogger Award. We share an interest in German drugstore make-up and I’ve come across some real drugstore treasures thanks to her blog. Go and find out for yourselves if you are up for some bargains this autumn – and a well-written and beautifully illustrated blog!

Allie has asked me five questions that will hopefully make you discover some new products, tips and tricks.

  • What makeup product could you not live without?

This question would be literally impossible to answer if I only thought about the visual results I could achieve with one item: Considering my dark circles, straight lashes and crazy eyebrows, I know for a fact that I could never create a decent look with one helper only. If I take into consideration how I feel however, I arrive at a decision easily: Since I am wearing an SPF of 50 every. single. day. of the year, powder has got to be the one product that I could not live without. It might make close to no visual difference (since I use mattifying, invisible SPFs anyhow), but the feeling of an unpowdered and a powdered face are poles apart!

  • Powder or liquid foundation?

As you might have guessed from my previous answer: Powder all the way! I have written about my love for ChrimaLuxe‘s mineral powder foundations on previous occasions, and I am not going to surprise you this time, either: I use a sunscreen as an illuminating base, topped off with some concealer and dusted with a mineral foundation. I have to admit that I have never even used a liquid foundation before, and that I am not planning to do so unless I find one that fully replaces my SPF 50: Even the thought of applying another liquid over my sunscreen makes me cringe 😀ChrimaLuxe

  • What’s your at-home pamper routine?

At the moment, I differentiate between my actual and my ideal pamper routine. Since I am not happy with my current living situation, having a real spa evening is not an option because, for a start, I cannot take bathes, and because my house is so noisy that I can never reach full relaxation levels 😦 My current pamper routine is therefore focused on visual results more than unwinding: I give myself a manicure and a pedicure, I put on some face masks, I tweeze my brows etc. In my now home however, I am going to strive for deeper relaxation, soak in an indulgent bath for a while with a nice book, light some candles, snuggle up on the sofa with my face mask and generally get back into the whole shebang we see in pamper routines videos and posts all over the internet 🙂 I can’t tell you how much I look forward to that!

  • What was the last makeup item you bought?

Speaking of German drugstore make-up: A P2 gel look polish in “Zen Gardener” that I feel like I will cherish a lot in autumn!Zen Gardener

  • Favourite drugstore brand?

After serious deliberations: Balea. Even though I love being able to get a new Essence lipstick for a few bucks, or an inexpensive seasonal nail polish, I feel like I depend more on everyday skin and hair care essentials by Balea: The brand is renowned for their conscious ingredient choices and generally provides honest products at honest prices.

My questions for Alex (Simply20sLife), Lea (fantabulea),  Ankita & Karan (Beauty and the Being), Ruth (Yes, Ruth Crilly from AMR. Why not dream big?) and Anna (Yes, Anna Saccone. I know, I know…) would be:

  • Which skincare product could you not live without?
  • Which season are you generally most excited about make-up wise, and why?
  • Have you discovered a new, outstanding perfume for autumn/winter 2015/16? If not: any old favourites?
  • Name the one blogger or youtuber who inspires you most on the make-up and/or skin care front 🙂
  • Lastly, more of a sassy question: Is there a beauty tip or product you have always kept (or at least considered to keep) a secret because it’s just working too well? I know chefs never share their best recipies 😉 Time to break the silence!

Please thank and follow the blog that nominated you, display the award on your blog, answer the questions given to you by the lovely that nominated you, and nominate other bloggers to answer your own questions 🙂

(Thumbnail: Blumen by Stefan is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)

One thought on “Beauty Blogger Award

  1. Pingback: Beauty Blogger Award! | Simply 20s Life

Leave a Reply

