Hair Care / Home / Make-Up / Reviews / Skin Care

Unfavourites!

As much as I try to do my research before buying a product, I cannot entirely avoid the occasional mispurchase. Here’s a selection of the most disappointing products I bought over the past few months. 

  • Vichy Teint Idéal Compact Powder Foundation with SPF

Since I am very religious about protecting my skin from the sun on a daily basis, I decided to splurge on a facial powder with SPF in order to be able to add protection throughout the day on top of my make-up. At first, I was very happy with this pretty Vichy compact powder that allowed me to top off my SPF on the go and also added a nice amount of coverage. After only a couple of days however, it literally broke to smithereens just from being carried around in my handbag (I had not dropped it!) and became completely unusable! Pretty bad performance for a compact powder whose whole point is transportability, if you ask me…IMG_4393

  • Kiehl’s Midnight Therapy

Yes, Midnight Therapy was once included in my monthly favourites; and no, I have not changed my mind about the amazing immediate effects of this product. What made me reconsider the use of this serum are certain properties of the serum’s main ingredients that I was unaware of before: Whilst I still really enjoy the blend of essential oils for their calming effects on my mind and soul, I have become wary of their appropriateness in a facial oil: Indeed, essential oils seem to be potent irritants that can lead to the the breakdown of collagen in the long term, even without immediate visible signs of irritation on the surface. Thus, whilst I still use products with essential oils for cleansing, I now try to stay away from them in products that are not washed off, but massaged into my skin.

  • Schwarzkopf Bonacure Hairtherapy Oil Miracle Gold Shimmer Conditioner

A conditioner with the most promising list of ingredients I had read in a long term, but that just does not work on my hair! I cannot pin down why since this Schwarzkopf conditioner contains the five key ingredients I look for in a conditioner, but it leaves my hair super entangled and almost impossible to brush through, as if the single hairs were sticky and glued together. In fact, this conditioner is the exact opposite of the Bed Head one I tried before, which worked brilliantly, but was full of bad ingredients: The Schwarzkopf BC one on the other hand has an outstanding INCI list, but simply doesn’t get the job done for me. I guess, the quest for the perfect conditioner goes on! Feel free to tell me about your favourites in the comments below.IMG_4394

  • NYX Powder Blush in PB11 “Taupe”

Finding a contouring powder for fair skins like mine can be quite tricky: Since the beauty community seems to agree that NYX’s taupe blush is a good one to go for, I picked it up a couple of months ago. For some reason however, I cannot manage to get the colour out of the pan: There is literally NO colour pay-off, neither when I use a brush nor when I use my fingers: It feels like I am swirling my brush or rubbing my finger on a piece of smooth plastic. Totally useless and about to be thrown out! Do you have any recommendations for a new contouring powder? Or do you like the NYX taupe blush and I just grabbed a bad one? 🙂IMG_4392

(Thumbnail: Disapprove by hobvias sudoneighm is licensed under CC BY 2.0)

Leave a Reply

