Hair Care / Home / Reviews

A Winning Team (in the Midterm)

As you can see from the picture, these two goodies clearly have a natural penchant for one another! (Your French teacher is proud of you if you get this one ;-))
Since I like to buy my hair care products on sale online, I tend to experiment quite a lot: Who could resist a 60 % discount on salon brands? 🙂 A few months ago, I ordered an amazing set of full-sized bottles of Tigi Bed Head Resurrection Shampoo & Conditioner for 9,56 € (for both) instead of 23,90 € (it’s still available here): Whilst I was not overwhelmed with the products as of the first use, I definitely grew to like the conditioner in terms of its long-time effects. Shampoo1

What I liked most about Tigi’s Resurrection Conditioner was that, contrary to other conditioners, it managed to keep my mane mostly frizz-free for more than only the very day after I’d washed it. This might be due to the significant amount of lactic acid that closes the cuticles of your hair and thus actually – literally – smooths down the look and feel of your hair (click here for more information on the mechanism of action of lactic acid). Strangely, the combination of Tigi’s Conditioner and my Balea Beautiful Long Shampoo left my hair somewhat malleable: Whilst normally, I can only achieve curls by tying my damp hair up in a bun, the overnight bun trick would work even on dry, second- or third-day-hair if I’d used these two products! A very pleasant effect for straight hair girls like me, that struggle to add some texture 🙂

Other active ingredients of the TIGI conditioner are:

  •  cetearyl alcohol, a fatty alcohol that works as excellent emollient and moisturizer.
  • stearamidopropyl dimethylamine, a cationic surfactant with a hydrophobic tail and a positively charged, hydrophilic head. With its positive charges, this substance binds to the negative charge of the hair and properly coats or envelops the shaft, leaving it all nice and smooth even after you have washed out your conditioner.
  • The same is true for the silicones in this conditioner: They seal the cuticle, thus keep moisture and lipids inside the cortex and prevent humectants from drawing in too much moisture and making your hair look frizzy.

Unfortunately however, this conditioner does not contain any humectants like glycerol or panthenol, that would actively draw back moisture into the shaft: All it does is to add lipids back and to seal and envelop the hair. Whilst this might work for a few weeks because the product does at least prevent the shaft from losing more water, I’d  be afraid that months and months of using this conditioner would eventually leave my hair severely dehydrated because no new water is drawn into the shaft.

A second and equally as important reason for me not wanting to repurchase this conditioner, now that I have completely used it up, is the scent … or shall I say: the smell? I have honestly never – ever – had a product in my shower with an equally strong and artificial fragrance. This line would therefore be great for all those of you who love a shampoo or conditioner that leaves your hair scented for days (literally!). But in order to appreciate this, you’d need to be very much into very, very, very artificial scents: In fact, fragrance is the third ingredient, which is not great for your hair. I’d describe this particular scent as a mixture of a chemical green apple scent (type: semi-illegal Bubblegum made in China) and pure chemicals. Definitely not my cup of tea, to say the least! In fact, I was completely unable to use both the shampoo and the conditioner at the same time, which is why I paired the conditioner with my go-to shampoo, Balea’s Beautiful Long, whose salon scent I adore (I have done a full review here)!

So whilst I really enjoyed the long-lasting anti-frizz effect and the malleability this combination provided, I will not repurchase the conditioner immediately, because I fell like I need to re-infuse my hair with humectants first, and give it a silicone-break at that! I would nonetheless recommend this set (on sale, not for the full price) as an in-between treat for yourself, if you are going through a bit of stress and don’t have the time to wash and/or style your hair every day. As a go-to product for longer periods of time however, I would look for a more complete formula (check out my five key ingredients’ list) that also properly moisturizes your hair. If you decide to give the Bed Head conditioner a try, be prepared for the scent though: Don’t say I didn’t warn you 😀

One thought on “A Winning Team (in the Midterm)

  1. Pingback: Unfavourites! | The Wherewithals

Leave a Reply

