Home / Make-Up / Pretty Things / Reviews / Skin Care

April Favourites for Five-Minute Beauty

The nicer the weather, the less time I want to spend in the bathroom. Read on to find out about my April Favourites, that are all about looking polished in no time 🙂  

  • China Glaze Nail Lacquer in 207 “Rich & Famous”

ChinaGlaze

As I am sure many of you will agree, this bright, but not too bright magenta shade is spring in a bottle! Also, contrary to China Glaze’s “At Vase Value”, “Rich & Famous”‘s formula leaves nothing to be desired: The long, thin brush (that reminds me a lot of Chanel brushes) works perfectly with the rather liquid, but also very pigmented formula, leaving you with an opaque, high-shine and streak-free finish after only one coat. What made this polish stand out even more to me was the fact that it dries quicker than any other brand of nail polish I have ever tried! With a little help of a quick-dry spray, you could achieve a perfect, two-coats-mani done in literally under five minutes.

  • Bourgeois Color Edition 24h Cream-to-Powder Eyeshadow in 03 “Pétale de Glace”

To me, spring time is not the time for smokey eyes or any sort of elaborate eyeshadow work. Instead, I prefer a natural look that is all about radiance and a fresh complexion, juicy lips and just a hint of colour on the eyes. One of my all-time favourite products for an effortless, dewy and subtle eye look is Bourgeois’ champagne cream-to-powder eyeshadow in “Pétale de Glace” (around 11 €). I know the colour looks pretty unspectacular in the pot, but I could not be more impressed with the ingenious combination of deep undertones and intense, almost wet shimmer effects! The product miraculously works with the natural lights and shadows on your eye area and creates an illusion of depth and definition in no time. By all means check out the pictures on Bourgeois’ web site to get an idea of how gorgeous and elaborate just one swipe of colour can look 🙂

BourgoisES

  • Schaebens Anti-Wrinkle Face Mask 

If you have been dealing with dry skin as a result of the first intense sun exposure of the year, you HAVE to give Schaebens’ Anti-Wrinkle Mask a try (under 1 € per 10 ml). Whilst it is declared to be an anti-aging product, it makes for the perfect all-round one-size-fits-all moisturizing mask in my eyes, since it is packed with a surprising blend of the most moisturizing and nourishing ingredients: Considering this modest looking, inexpensive drugstore mask contains a mixture of glycerin, jojoba oil, shea butter, sesame seed oil, allantoin, aloe vera leaf extract, bamboo leaf extract, ginkgo leaf extract, panthenol and urea, it actually turns out to be one of the rare products that actually understate their merits! It manages to transform even the driest, most irritated and brittle skin into bouncy, replenished smoothness in just 10 minutes 🙂 Definitely a new skin care staple for me; and for you, I bet, if you give it a try!

  • Lush Bubblegum Lip Scrub

LushBubblegumÀ propos dry skin: Nothing annoys me more on a spring morning than dry lips that spoil the pleasure of minimal face make-up, spiced up with nothing but a vibrant, juicy lip. Up until last month, I took dry lips as an irreversible stroke of fate and a punishment for slacking with my lip care, which led to many an involuntary eye make-up when lipstick was not an option. One day at Lush however, I gave in to the irresistibly sweet scent of their Bubblegum Lip Scrub (8,95 €) pretty much just for the fun of it, hoping for nothing but a gadgety pleasure. Needless to say this product is an absolute dream to use, especially for food scent lovers like me. Miraculously however, this scrub (which consists of hardly anything else than sugar and oil) actually gets the job done and eliminates dead skin on my lips more efficiently than any homemade scrub has ever done: Ever since this discovery, everyday is bright lip day 🙂

  • Davines OI All in One Milk Multi-Benefit Beauty Treatment 

DavineOIAs much as dry shampoo has become my fail-safe, go-to product for greasy roots, dry ends on second or third day hair have always been an unresolved problem. My beloved Davines OI Milk, on which I have done a full (rave) review, has solved this problem once and for all: While I leave my dry shampoo to sit for a few minutes, I massage a few pumps of the OI Milk into the palms of my hands and then into my lengths and ends. By the time the dry shampoo has absorbed the oils on my scalp, OI has softened my brittle ends and made them look shiny and healthy, but by no means greasy like your standard hair oils can sometimes do. Since I prefer the texture and slight waviness of second day hair to my super sleek first day hair anyhow, OI has become a staple in my hair care selection over the past month: Not least because of the indescribable and unique beauty of this products’ scent!

3 thoughts on “April Favourites for Five-Minute Beauty

  1. I LOVE that nail polish color. I am not a pastel kinda girl so it can be difficult to find pretty spring nail colors.
    And I agree with you on spring makeup! Fresh, minimal looks are the best. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

