Home / Reviews / Skin Care

Laura Mercier Crème de Pistache Dupe!

Great news for all of us wistfully sneaking around the Laura Mercier counter: I found a drugstore dupe for the Crème de Pistache line 🙂 

Whilst finding dupes for some of the other Laura Mercier pâtisserie-inspired products has always been rather easy (check out my post on a Body Shop dupe for their Ambre Vanillé Honey Bath for instance), I’ve never been able to find anything even remotely close to the insanely gorgeous, but also insanely expensive Crème de Pistache line. I have to admit that I was on the verge of actually spending 42 € on a shower gel, when at my local drugstore, a rather large Dove display caught my eye. I carelessly walked past, since I really don’t need any more shower gel at the moment, but I accidentally knocked over the price label on the display, picked it up and read “Pistachio” on it. Immediately, my inner dupe alarm went off, I gave the nearest bottle a sniff, and what shall I say… Thanks Dove for saving me 40 €!

MarchFavs2

From all I can tell (not owning the Mercier shower gel), the Dove Pistachio and Magnolia shower gel is an exact dupe in terms of its delicious pâtisserie scent: On your marks, all of you food scent lovers out there, I’d say you need to give this a try 🙂 Especially because the new formulation of Dove’s shower gel lathers up really nicely into a creamy, soft foam, but is free of harsh surfactants (SLS has been replaced by sodium hydroxypropyl starch phosphate) and leaves your skin less irritated and dry than your normal body wash (even if it is definitely not an in-shower bodylotion).

So if your stumble across this product next time you are at the drugstore, have a sniff and let me know what you think of it. Is it a dupe? I hope so 🙂

(Thumbnail: French macarons: Pistachio by ace_alejandre is licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0)

Leave a Reply

