Home / Reviews / Skin Care

February Favourites

February has been short and crisp, and so will be this introduction. Lets get started 😀

  • Lush’s Snow Fairy Showergel

I know I am incredibly late to the bandwagon as far as this first product is concerned, but how amazing is Snow Fairy? I now see why it has been Lush’s most popular Christmas product for years 😀 I wouldn’t necessarily say that it could ever replace my beloved Hot Toddy on cold November and December evenings (or any evening shower gel for that matter), but its cosy, sugary-sweet candy shop scent is just perfect to gently wake me up in the morning and whet my appetite for the day without the usual, slightly boring citrus scents. Also, Snow Fairy totally takes me back to my childhood and reminds me of a particular kind of candy one could only buy in Belgium in a store called Moeder Babelutte. I don’t even know the name of these sweets, but they look like this:Candy

So if you happen to be familiar with this kind of candy, try Snow Fairy next winter. If on the other hand, you have always been tempted to eat Snow Fairy, go for the Belgian treat instead 😀 And by the way, both Mmmelting Marshmallow Moment bath melt and The Godmother soap have got the same scent as Snow Fairy, which is why you could in theory enjoy Snow Fairy moments all year round… 🙂

  • Muji Large Aroma Diffuser

For now, let’s just say that my Muji Aroma Diffuser has made the incredible happen: It has dethroned Yankee Candles! Check out my Sunday Funday review on this amazing Japanese gadget for more information.

  • Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate

As with Snow Fair, I have always been reluctant to buy Kiehl’s super hyped light facial oil because of its immense popularity. After having tried it one night during a girly sleepover however, I just had to procure my dry winter skin the feeling of intense moisture, comfort and nourishment it provides. Paradoxically, I love this oil-based serum precisely because it does not contain any powerful anti-ageing or anti-blemish ingredients: For this kind of action, I still rely on something like Ren’s Resurfacing AHA Serum. If after a few days of AHAs etc. however, my skin needs a break, Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate does exactly what it says: It is the much needed, active pause button for your skin 🙂 If like me, you want to bring the best out of your skin with the help of powerful mixtures of active ingredients, but you don’t know what to use on a night where your skin can’t handle any of those, give Kiehl’s serum a try.KiehlsMidnightRecovery

  • The Body Shop’s Vanilla Brûlée Bath Jelly

Once again, The Body Shop have done what they do best, and brilliantly so! Not only is this Bath Jelly a perfect (and perfectly obvious) dupe for the ever so famous, but also ever so overpriced Laura Mercier Honey Baths: It has also surpassed them as far as the scent is concerned. This Crème Brûlée scent just strikes the perfect balance between sugary sweetness, spicy vanilla aroma and a subtle hint of creamy tartness. Take this from somebody who usually calls vanilla “a lame excuse for lack of scent or taste”:) It’s still on sale, so be quick!VanillaBrulee

  • Large mugs

Last, but not least, a piece of advice that all of you girls who are one with their water bottles can skip. But to all of you out there who struggle to get even remotely close to drinking the recommended amount of water, let me just suggest this one simple trick: Instead of preparing a regular cup of tea, prepare an enormous one! I have found that I don’t like to waste my tea once I have brewed it: Which is why cup size matters after all (tea cup size at least 🙂 ): Thanks to my ridiculously huge and ridiculously out-of-season Villeroy and Boch mug, I have been drinking almost a litre of herbal tea in the morning without even noticing, just sippin’ away… A second cup in the afternoon, and I end up having drunk more in one day than I would have in three days without my cup. Sometimes, it’s the small things that make the biggest changes 🙂VilleroyMug

2 thoughts on “February Favourites

  1. Pingback: Laura Mercier Crème de Pistache Dupe! | The Wherewithals

  2. Pingback: Unfavourites! | The Wherewithals

Leave a Reply

