Home / Reviews / Skin Care

How to Get Clear Skin – For Good (Part II)

If you have ever thought about a Roaccutane therapy, you will know from experience that you can easily spend hours and days on doing your research. Sadly however, you are most likely going to end up being more confused than ever…

The Basics

(If you don’t know what I am talking about, read Part One of my Clear Skin Series 🙂 ) First of all, keep in mind that almost every site on the internet that tries to convince your of how dangerous or fantastic Roaccutane is has got one very specific motivation: Most of these so-called well-intentioned pieces of information come from people that don’t only try to tell, but also to sell you something… So what do we really know about Roaccutane? I tried to break it down to the bare minimum of what a non-professional can know and therefore share without being irresponsible or relying on mere speculations.

  • What is Roaccutane?

Roaccutane is a medication used to treat cystic acne that is based on the action of Isotretinoin. It was first sold under the name “Accutane” by Hoffmann-La Roche: Nowadays, you can find it under a variety of names, depending on the brand and the country you live in: Amnesteem, Claravis, Absorica, Isotroin, Epuris, Aknenormin, Ciscutan, Curakne, Decutan, Isocutan, Isoderm or Isogalen would be popular names in the US or in Germany.

  • How does Roaccutane work?

Despite the variety of names, every Isotretinoin-based therapy will do the same thing for your skin: As a retinoid (a substance related to vitamin A), Isotretinoin will dramatically shrink the size of your sebaceous glands and thus lead to a decreased sebum output. Isotretinoin will also normalize the composition of the sebum itself. As a consequence, your sebaceous glands will become too small and be producing too little sebum to even be infected. Easy, right?

  • Is that everything?

Unfortunately, no! There is a lot of research being done and studies seem to suggest that this drug – unlike every other – affects all four major pathogenic processes in acne: However, Roaccutane’s exact mechanism of action is still unknown up to this day.

  • Should I wait until we know more?

Of course, it is always a safer option to use drugs that science “fully” understands. We might indeed one day find out about terrible side effects of Roaccutane that nobody had been aware of so far. However, Isotretinoin treatments have been around for over 30 years now with hundreds of thousands of happy and healthy patients who speak for themselves both in terms of results and of (im)possible (ir)reversible side effects. Try to consider every form of treatment very carefully and trade off the risk of (unknown) side effects against the damage severe forms of acne can afflict to your mental health.

Also, who would you be waiting for, really? You will not meet that one person that really knows for sure whether Roaccutane is safe for you or not. Roaccutane’s known side effects (about which I will talk in my next post) are just as real as is the a chance of yet unknown ones. I wish I could say otherwise, but the only thing I know for sure, as a former patient, is that ultimately, you just have to decide whether you want to take the risk!

(Thumbnail: Vintage Ad #1,214: Blemishes Fade as Skin Clears by Jamie is licensed under CC BY 2.0)

2 thoughts on “How to Get Clear Skin – For Good (Part II)

  1. I’ve tried Isotretinoin and it did help clear out my skin and fade all the scarring as well…it was like magic… but it made my skin peel off…like you wouldn’t imagine… my hair got dry…my hands and feet were dry and I feel the side effect was really bad coz it lasted about a year in my case.
    2 years down the line my acne is back with full force, but this time I’m determined not to go on this particular pill… even with the magical results!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks a lot for sharing your experience! I’ve heard that such relapses can be caused by a hormonal imbalance that causes your sebaceous glands to increase in size again after the Iso treatment has shrunk them. Apparently, your chances to avoid a relapse are best if – in total – you take 120 mg of Iso per kg of your bodyweight, which usually leads to a really long treatment. The theory behind this is that by then, your glands will have become so small that it is very unlikely for them to ever become too big again and cause trouble. I for instance was on Iso for almost a year, but I’ve been off Iso for 6 months only, so I still don’t know whether it will work out in the long run. So far, everything is good, I am now following through with an after-treatment (Epiduo cream) which (contrary to Iso) makes my skin peel badly. But this answer is getting really long. I guess I should just write another post in my series 😀 All the best for you, I really hope you find the perfect treatment for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

