Home / Reviews / Skin Care

Dupe Alarm: Balea Bodylotion Urea

If I really like a product, I usually hardly ever even look for dupes. Recently however, I branched out of this routine and was instantly rewarded: La Roche-Posay’s Iso-Urea Lait Lissant now has got a serious competitor!If you have been following my blog for a little while, you know how much I used to rely on La Roche-Posay’s Iso-Urea Lait Lissant for my dry winter skin: You can check out my review right here if you haven’t done so already. I probably wouldn’t even have bothered to look for an alternative to my go to moisturizer if it hadn’t been for the price point: Iso-Urea retails at around or even over 16 € 😦 Given the fact that I have to slather myself in moisturizer to calm my super itchy shins and forearms, I go through quite a substantial amount of lotion every month. And as a girl however, you might understand that I’d rather spend my money on more fun beauty products than an itch-relieving lotion 😉

Balea_UreaBodylotion2

To make a long story short, I one day decided to just give my local drugstore’s own brand a chance and maybe save a substantial amount of money by using Balea Body Lotion Urea, that costs about 2 instead of 16 €. Certainly, the packaging is neither luxurious nor in any other way appealing, but neither is the La Roche-Posay’s!

I really did not have high expectations for this product: After all, out of all the countless lotions and body butters I had tried, only Iso-Urea had really managed to rehydrate and calm my skin so far. However, I couldn’t have been more surprised at the incredible effects of this inexpensive lotion, which after a few days did not only prove to keep up with my former Frech pharmacy favourite, but even to outperform it. A look at the ingredients’ list quickly told me why: Not only does Balea’s body lotion rely on exactly the same active ingredients as Iso-Urea (i.e. water, shea butter, glycerin, urea, sodium lactate* and cetearyl alcohol**), it also contains lactic acid and allantoin, two ingredients which are excellent for the treatment of dryness and irritation, which the expensive Iso-Urea however completely lacks in. As an AHA, lactic acid encourages the skin to slough off its old, dead skin cells and therefore greatly helps the process of regaining well moisturized skin. Allantoin on the other hand does not only act as an emollient, it is also known for its anti-inflammatory properties and the ability to ease skin irritation, making it the perfect addition to urea and its itch-relieving qualities.

Taking into consideration all these amazing active ingredients, it almost goes without saying that Balea’s body lotion keeps its promise to moisturize the skin for up to 24 hours. It is very similar in consistency to the La Roche-Posay moisturizer, being of exactly the lightweight texture you would expect a lotion to be. As far as everyday usability goes, it sinks in rather quickly and without the tingly feeling of Iso-Urea, leaving your skin with nothing but a sensation of instant moisture and relief that truly will last until your next shower! I would even go so far as to claim that no body lotion or body butter has ever left my skin feeling hydrated for as long as Balea’s body lotion does.

Balea_UreaBodylotion3

If it weren’t for the scent, I would conclude that Balea’s Body Lotion Urea isn’t only the most efficient, but generally the best moisturizer I have ever used: Given the outstanding price/performance ratio however, I definitely recommend you at least give this lotion a sniff and find out for yourselves whether you can look past the scent or not: If you can, you might just have found one of the best, yet most inexpensive moisturizers out there. Enjoy your goddess skin and all the goodies you can buy with the extra money 🙂

* One of the Natural Moisturizing Factors (NMF) of skin: it increases the moisture content of skin by up to 84%.

** A fatty alcohol that works as a superior emollient and moisturizer.

One thought on “Dupe Alarm: Balea Bodylotion Urea

  1. Pingback: Review: Garnier’s Body Urea Lotion | The Wherewithals

Leave a Reply

