Home / Reviews / Skin Care

Review: La Roche-Posay Redermic C Eyes

Even though I totally bought Redermic C by mistake, I have grown to like the cream for its combination of active ingredients targeted to achieve short-term and long-term effects. Read on to find out if Redermic C could be the right product for you, too!

The cream I actually meant to buy was La Roche-Posay’s Redermic R, which contains my number one skin care ingredient of all times, retinol. Obviously I was quite bummed when I found out I had just spent over 20 € on the wrong cream, but then I told myself that since it was a La Roche-Posay product, I should probably give it a try after all. And what shall I say, once again, my favourite skin care brand has not let me down 🙂

LaRochePosay_Redermic_1Contrary to Redermic R, Redermic C is retinol free and therefore less targeted towards long-term skin improvement: What it claims to do on the other hand is to

  • Moisturize and plump as of the first application

Hyaluronic acid is a naturally occurring polysaccharide mainly acting in our bodies as a cushioning and lubrication agent for our joints, nerves etc. Up to 50 % of our body’s supply is located in our skin, but since we lose the ability to produce HA over time (boohoo), it is important fill our stocks back up from the outside. Since hyaluronic acid molecules are able to attract and retain over 1000 times their weight in water, a lack of hyaluronic acid can show in dry skin and saggy skin: Using the right HA cream on the other hand will visibly re-plump, firm and moisturize your skin as of the first application, provided you are using fragmented HA that can actually penetrate into the skin!

  • Stimulate the collagen production

Redermic C contains a high dose of vitamin C, which acts as an anti-oxidant and helps to even-out your complexion by chemically exfoliating the skin. Most importantly however, vitamin C stimulates our collagen production, thus leading to a more dense and firm dermal mattress over time.

  • Reduce sensitivity

I have to admit that I was just as sceptical about vitamin C in an eye cream as you might be right now, because I was afraid that the exfoliating effects might be too harsh for my sensitive eyelids. However, Redermic C was formulated especially to satisfy the needs of sensitive eyes: It contains Neurosensine, a peptide that relieves any discomfort or dryness vitamin C might cause on sensitive skin.  Likewise, madecassoside, a bioactive compound derived from a herbaceous plant called “centella asiatica”, is known for its calming effects that are even enhanced when combined with vitamin C. LaRochePosay_Redermic_2

La Roche-Posay’s Redermic C is easy to dose and hygienic in use thanks to the fine nozzle. As always, it is rather hard to completely use up the product: As I am sure many of you do, I would really appreciate if La Roche-Posay finally introduced pump dispensers. The product itself is a white, pleasantly thick and odourless cream that stays in place all day or night and makes for a great make-up base, since it is non-sticky and non-greasy.

I personally consider this cream to be a great and reliable eye care base product to build upon: It is certainly no all-in-one product and should be completed at least with a retinol night cream as well as a rich balm to help acute dryness. But since I doubt the existence of all-in-one products in skin care anyhow, I recommend this product for its combination of short-term filling HA-action and long-term collagen stimulation. Redermic C might not be the whole house, but it is a solid fundament 🙂

Leave a Reply

