Home / Reviews / Skin Care

Review: MAC’s Cleanse Off Oil

MAC_CleanseOffOil
Even though I have known MAC’s Cleanse Off Oil for a long time, I would never have tried it if a friend hadn’t recommended it to me. I always associated MAC with high-performance make-up, but not with skin care products or responsible ingredient choices, which are quintessential to me in products I apply on large areas of my face. Well, I was greatly mistaken! Ever since testing MAC’s Cleanse Off Oil, I have become a firm believer in this product.

I was extremely surprised to discover that MAC’s Cleanse Off Oil isn’t only 100 % mineral oil free (which it claims to be on the packaging), but that it is basically made from pure plant oils. The use of three other ingredients (Squalane, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate and PEG-20) is both understandable and absolutely harmless. Squalane is an anti-oxidant-rich lipid naturally occurring in our own bodies that protects the skin from moisture loss and provides a shield from environmental toxins. It used to be derived from shark liver oil, but since 2008, The Estée Lauder Companies Inc. (who own MAC) only use plant-derived Squalane. Cetyl Ethylhexanoate is a skin-conditioning agent which is commonly used in combination with plant oils in order to improve their “spreadibility”. Finally, PEG-20 or Polyethylene Glycol Stearate 20 (“20” corresponding to the average number of ethylene oxide monomers in the polyethylene chain) is an emulsifying agent and thus a key ingredient of any cleansing product, since it allows water to mix with oil and dirt.

Needless to say that a plant oil based product takes off your make-up extremely gently as well as efficiently: I apply one or one and a half pumps of product into my dry hands and gently massage my entire (dry!) face including my eye area. This step already dissolves most of my make-up and is made even more pleasant by the product’s beautiful and ever so subtle scent, which reminds my of lime-tree blossom and calms me greatly at night. After having treated my skin to the most relaxing, almost aromatherapeutic massage and dissolved a full face of make-up alongside, I wet my hands and start emulsifying the oil, transforming it into a barely noticeable white and runny lather. Every last trace of mascara or lipstick can now be removed easily and without a wash cloth, if necessary. The product does absolutely not sting your eyes, but it might leave you with blurred vision for a few seconds after you have washed it off. Apart from this one little downside, the only thing MAC’s Cleanse Off Oil leaves you with after use is perfectly clean skin: no oily residue, no irritations!

As for all MAC products, the packaging is sleek and functional: The oil comes in a slightly conic, transparent and sturdy plastic pump bottle that does not look grubby after you touch it with wet hands. 150 ml of MAC’s Cleanse Off Oil retail around the 25 € mark. Since I have been using the product every day for two months now and there is still over three quarters left, I guess that one bottle should last you well over half a year, probably eights months or more.

All in all, I can only vividly recommend you give this oil a try: It is a highly efficient make-up remover, containing perfectly clean ingredients, that makes a great addition to your daily at-home spa experience with its beautiful, calming scent.

Step By Step 

I have used the oil to remove waterproof eye pencil, lip liner and eyeshadow stick.

I have used the oil to remove waterproof eye pencil, lip liner and an eyeshadow stick.

It literally takes the oil two seconds to dissolve the make-up without added  pressure.

It literally takes the oil two seconds to dissolve the make-up without any added pressure or scrubbing.

Emulsifying the product with warm water turns it into a barely perceptible white lather that completely dissolves every last trace of make-up.

Emulsifying the product with warm water turns it into a barely perceptible white lather that completely dissolves every last trace of make-up.

I washed off the oil with warm water for one or two seconds, no flanel or cloth needed! As you can see, my skin is perfectly clean and not irritated at all.

I washed off the oil with warm water for one or two seconds, no flannel or cloth needed! As you can see, my skin is perfectly clean and not irritated or dried out at all.

N.B.: This product contains bitter orange and lavender oils that you might find irritating if you have got very sensitive skin. For me however, these ingredients have never been a problem, not even around the eyes.

2 thoughts on “Review: MAC’s Cleanse Off Oil

  1. Pingback: My Top 5 Skin Care Products of 2014 | The Wherewithals

  2. Pingback: Review: Balea Cleansing Oil Fluid (Reinigungs-Öl-Fluid) | The Wherewithals

Leave a Reply

