Home

My Top Five Autumn Nail Polishes

To me, painting my nails in autumn is all about cosiness and a touch of elegance. Whilst I save my glittery and sparkly polishes for christmas time, I indulge in snug, yet smart colours of fallen leaves, tartan scarves, and of everything else that reminds me of the British countryside during this time of the year. These are my top five picks for 2014 (swatches at the bottom!!):

O.P.I. I’m Suzi and I’m a Chocaholic

IMG_1531

This beautiful and unique mixture of brick red and brown was part of O.P.I’s 2010 Swiss Collection, which means that unfortunately, it will be pretty hard for you to still get hold of it (Mrs. O’Leary’s BBQ seems to be a close dupe, but is a more cold-toned). However, if I had to pick one autumn colour for the rest of my life, this would be it! I’m Suzi and I’m a Chocaholic is all I want from a nail polish during this time of the year: It’s cosy, rich, yet smart, and reminds me of all I love about this season. Besides, it is also an example for the high quality of O.P.I.’s polishes, since I am now going into my fourth year with this bottle and the formula is still perfect, applying absolutely streak-free.

Basic ???

IMG_1594

Let’s get done with the polishes you won’t be able to find anymore. This deep, cold-toned fir-tree green with beautiful, yet ever so subtle gold and emerald reflections is from a brand that no longer exists. However, Butter London’s British Racing Green would do a similar job, or Illamasqua’s Kink, which however has an entirely different finish. Unlike the dupes, the original is almost a faux noir in certain lights, which I am all about during the autumn months.

Essie Wicked

IMG_1528

Speaking of faux noir, how could I not mention the shade that (besides O.P.I.’s Lincoln Park After Dark) has made this colour family so popular: Chanel’s gorgeous Rouge Noir, of which I only possess Essie’s dupe Wicked. Elegance and allure, united in one bottle!

P2 Hold Me Tight

IMG_1589

When the sun is shining for once and the temperatures are far away from wool, cashmere and lighting a fire, I don’t always feel like wearing my “typical” autumn colours. This is when I go for something like this shiny, creamy strawberry red that carries memories of summer treats. The formula of this particular polish is really runny (as you can see from the colour bleeding in the swatch picture), but Dior has brought out a really similar shade in their fall/winter collection 2014 (775 Star), which I’m sure will apply perfectly.

O.P.I. Over the Taupe

OPI_OverTheTaupe

Last, but not least, a taupe colour, in this case O.P.I.’s classic Over the Taupe! A nail polish collection without a taupe is like a closet without a trench coat. There will come a day where you just need one!

Swatches

OPI_Suzi2

Basic_2

 

 

 

 

 

P2_HoldMeTight2Esie_Wicked2

 

 

 

 

 

 

OPI_OverTheTaupe2

 

 

 

 

 

What are your favourite autumn colours? Let me know in the comments! 

N.B.: O.P.I., Essie and P2 polishes are all “3 free”, which means that they do not contian Dibutyl Phthalate, Toluene or Formaldehyd.

One thought on “My Top Five Autumn Nail Polishes

  1. Pingback: The Sweater Weather Tag | The Wherewithals

Leave a Reply

