Home / Skin Care

Review: La Roche-Posay’s Iso-Urea Lait Lissant

Bildschirmfoto 2014-10-24 um 14.39.02Since I suffer from extremely dry skin during wintertime, I have been trying quite a few moisturizers and body butters over the past years. After having spent a lot of money on more or less expensive, but ultimately inefficient products, I was incredibly pleased when last winter, I discovered La Roche-Posay’s Iso-Urea Lait Lissant. Whilst most of the lotions or creams I had tried before felt rich and nourishing at first, but seemed to sit on top of my skin without being (literally) deeply moisturizing, the La Roche-Posay lotion for the first time actually soothed my skin and relieved the itchy feeling.

First of all, La Roche-Posay’s Iso-Urea Lait Lissant contains great active ingredients like shea butter, glycerin and urea. I particularly appreciate this last ingredient, because urea as a natural moisturizing factor does not only draw and retain water within your skin cells, but also helps the release of the horny layer of your skin by softening it. On top of this, urea works as a gentle antipruitic, having local anaesthetic effects. Because I tend to scratch myself quite badly in my sleep whenever my skin is dry and itchy, this last effect has first made me fall in love with this lotion.

What makes Iso-Urea so different from any other product I tried is an ingredient that La Roche-Posay calls A.P.F. (Activating Proteases Factor, also knows as Hepes), which allows the penetration of urea to the skin. When I apply the lotion, I always notice a tingly and maybe even slightly uncomfortable feeling for the first one or two minutes: But after that, the lotion and its ingredients seem to really work where they are supposed to, relieving the itching instead of making me want to scratch even more. Whether this is due to the A.P.F. or not, I have no idea, but I know for sure that this is the first lotion that actually works for me!IMG_1561

Unlike other rich moisturizers or body butters, this lotion does not leave an overly greasy or sticky film on your skin. It has got a very subtle and fresh, ever so slightly herbal scent. La Roche-Posay’s Iso-Urea Lait Lissant retails at around 20 € in stores and comes in a 400 ml pump bottle.

So if you suffer from really dry and itchy skin, if you find that even the heaviest body butter isn’t soothing enough for you and if you are looking for an efficient rather than a super cute and luxuriously scented product,  I highly recommend you give this lotion a go!

xo and take care

Anne

 

5 thoughts on “Review: La Roche-Posay’s Iso-Urea Lait Lissant

  1. Pingback: Business Trip Essentials | The Wherewithals

  2. Pingback: Sunday Funday: January Favourites | The Wherewithals

  3. Pingback: Dupe Alarm: Balea Bodylotion Urea | The Wherewithals

  4. Pingback: Review: Garnier’s Body Urea Lotion | The Wherewithals

  5. Pingback: The Infinity Dreams Award | The Wherewithals

Leave a Reply

